SA Composers’ Competition short list announced 

The five young composers whose works have been shortlisted for the Cape Town Philharmonic  Orchestra’s inaugural SA Composers’ Competition have been announced. All are in the running for the title and one- year residency with the CPO, a new commission and a cash prize: in alphabetical order Conrad Asman (Beyond the Atom), Kristi Boonzaaier (Sonsopkoms in die Woestyn), Owen Dalton (An Animal Suite), Anthonie Jansen van Rensburg (Lagging in the Shallow Water) and Franco Prinsloo (The Imbulu Suite).

The competition is supported by the City of Cape Town. 

The five works will be performed by the Cape Town Philharmonic Orchestra at a concert on March 4 at the Hugo Lambrechts Music Centre.

The concert will be recorded and a decision on the winner and possible runners-up will announced after the concert.

The panel, chaired by Prof Hendrik Hofmeyr of the SA College of Music, included conductors Bernhard Gueller and Graham Lea Cox, composers David Earl, Arthur Feder, Andile Khumalo and Antoni Schonken.

Louis Heyneman, the convenor of the competition, says there were 29 entries from a diverse group of young South African composers, all of which were of a very high calibre.

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Get the latest content and news about upcoming concerts first.
We will respect your privacy.