The five shortlisted compositions of young composers who entered the inaugural SA Composers’ Competition will be performed at a concert at the Hugo Lambrechts Music Centre will take place on Saturday, March 4, at 19:00.   Jeremy Silver will be on the podium.

All in the running for the title and one- year residency with the CPO, a new commission and a cash prize are, n alphabetical order, Conrad Asman (Beyond the Atom), Kristi Boonzaaier (Sonsopkoms in die Woestyn), Owen Dalton (An Animal Suite), Anthonie Jansen van Rensburg (Lagging in the Shallow Water) and Franco Prinsloo (The Imbulu Suite).

The name of the winner and possible runners up will announced after the concert.

The panel, chaired by Prof Hendrik Hofmeyr of the SA College of Music, included conductors Bernhard Gueller and Graham Lea Cox, composers David Earl, Arthur Feder, Andile Khumalo and Antoni Schonken and all the works prior to the selection of the five were judged in a ‘blind’ scenario in which no entrant could be identified.

Louis Heyneman, the convenor of the competition, says there were 29 entries from a diverse group of young South African composers, all of which were of a very high calibre.

Tickets are R150 

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Get the latest content and news about upcoming concerts first.
We will respect your privacy.