Autumn Symphony Season: Spectacular Liszt

Conductor: Conrad van Alphen

Soloist: Jan Hugo (piano)

Tchaikovsky 1812 Overture

(side by side with Cape Town Philharmonic Youth Orchestra)

Liszt Piano Concerto No 1 in E flat

Brahms Symphony No 1 in C minor

The Dutch/South-African conductor Conrad van Alphen works with some of the world’s most respected orchestras, such as the Montreal and Svetlanov Symphony Orchestras, the Brussels, Bogota and Moscow Philharmonics, the Stuttgarter and Bochumer Symphoniker as well as the Symphony Orchestra of the Gran Teatre del Liceu in Barcelona.

Winner of First Prizes at the UNISA National Piano competition in Pretoria, Royal Overseas League Piano Competition in London and overall winner of the SAMRO Bursary Competition, Jan Hugo studied  under Francesco Cipolletta in Modena, Italy.  He was also a student of the Accademia Pianistica Internazionale “Incontri col Maestro” in Imola then at Hochschule für Musik  in Leipzig.

New subscription from February 10. Single seats from February 17

Subscribe to our Newsletter
Get the latest content and news about upcoming concerts first.
We will respect your privacy.